UNSA Elections

Monica Malith, a third-year international student at the Faculty of Law, will lead the University of Nairobi Students’ Association.

On Friday, March 22, 2023, students successfully cast their votes online through an electronic ballot for the Faculty and Campus Students Association teams. On Saturday, March 25, 2023, 39 electors from all 13 electoral colleges cast their votes for the Students' Council.

Team Malith won with the most votes (25), Team Gonda received 8 votes, and Team Soi received 6 votes for third place.

Speaker after speaker offered their congratulations to the winning teams and the entire UoN student body for holding peaceful elections during the swearing-in ceremony Prof. Collins Odote, Chair of the UNSA Independent Electoral Commission, highlighted the successes and growth of the UNSA students elections. Moreover, E-Log Kenya, an independent observer, reported a 10% rise in overall voter turnout.

Prof. Odote also discussed the difficulties of meeting short deadlines for completing a lot of tasks and the difficulty of getting students to register to vote.

Vice Chancellor Prof. Stephen Kiama congratulated the commission while welcoming the Students' Council.

Vice Chancellor Prof. Stephen Kiama welcomed the commission and expressed his confidence in the smooth electoral process as he received the Students' Council. He applauded the university community for choosing student leaders based on concerns as a sign of growth. He expressed particular delight in the pupils' development and their ability to communicate during the UNSA Debate.

Faculty of Law (Team Opande) were cleared were unopposed.

Watch the swearing-in Ceremony here

Faculty and Campus teams 

Student Council